Cheeseburger Bug Soup (THM S)

We had this delicious Meatball Cabbage Soup on the menu tonight (the meatballs are TO DIE FOR, and low carb too), but I just couldn’t make it happen. Sick hubby, sick kids, tiring day. Making a two-step meal sounded exhausting.

I decided with similar ingredients I might be able to make a Cheeseburger Soup! I googled a few recipes (here and here) to tweak, scoured the fridge and pantry, and came up with this delectable yumminess. My 3 year old daughter was convinced the bits of dried basil were ants. She called this Bug Soup and was very reluctant to eat it! The older boys liked the name, so I think it will stick. Bug Soup is GOOD!

Cheeseburger Soup(Not the best photo, is it? I would have taken another, only I actually dropped my iPhone into the soup right after snapping this one! Whoops!)

Lowcarb Cheeseburger Bug Soup

2-3 lbs of ground beef

1 yellow onion, chopped

Steak seasoning (sprinkle to taste)

Salt to taste

About 3 tablespoons dried basil

8 cups of beef broth

5-6 carrots, peeled and sliced

6 stalks of celery, diced

About 3 tablespoons of minced garlic (jarred kind)

About 4 cups of raw baby spinach

1/2 cup turkey bacon (would be even better with pork bacon!)

1/4- 1/2 cup sour cream (all I had left, so I had to use yogurt too)

1/4 – 1/2 cup Greek yogurt (leave it out if you want to use sour cream only)

A heaping tablespoon of red palm oil (mentioned in THM book for health properties – I never know how to use it!)

A 1/2 cup cheddar cheese (all I had left – would be good with more)

Heavy whipping cream (to taste – until soup is a pretty color)

Brown ground beef and onion with spices. Add it to the beef broth and begin to simmer. Saute the celery, carrots, and garlic a little bit (I added a bit of water to soften quickly – everyone was HUNGRY), then add them to the soup base as well. Toss in chopped bacon. After about 15 minutes, throw in the spinach. After another 10 minutes, add the sour cream, yogurt, and cheese to your preference. Add the cream right before serving. For special presentation, you could have bacon and cheese available to sprinkle on top.

This soup was delicious and very nourishing. I couldn’t stop going back for refills of the broth to drink! Rich, just a little creamy, a beautiful, deep yellow color, sweet from the basil – yum! This is definitely going into my menu rotation.

(Carrots aren’t usually part of S meals. I don’t think there were enough carrots in here to make much of a difference. I gave most of mine to my 11 month old, tho, just in case!)

Recipe as is made about 10 hearty servings.

*Please note that all measurements are estimated – I don’t really measure! I do plan to make this again and will come back and edit this post to refine the instructions.

2 thoughts on “Cheeseburger Bug Soup (THM S)

Leave a Reply

