My First Paleo Cookies

ImageYesterday, I came across this lovely recipe for Paleo Chocolate Chip Cookies. Totally yummy, right? I fiddled with the recipe a bit and made the delicious cookies pictured above! (Actually, I was able to rope my 16 year old son into helping me this time, since the cookies were destined for a girl he fancies! I will have to use this new information to get further help with chores in some way…)

These are not Trim Healthy Mama cookies. I LOVE the low-glycemic THM treats. But for this event, I wanted cookies I could call completely and totally natural, and decided to not worry about the glycemic effect (I did still have the racing heart I get after eating white sugar while eating these)

3 ¼ cup almond meal (half blanched and half Trader Joe’s almond meal)

1 tsp grey sea salt

1 tsp baking soda

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

½ cup honey

½ cup butter, melted

1  cup Trader Joe’s semi-sweet chocolate chunks

1/2 cup walnut pieces

Because I am the world’s laziest baker, I generally mix my dry ingredients together first and then dump the wet ingredients into the SAME bowl (the horror, right? less dishes to wash!) After the batter was well mixed, I added the chocolate chunks and walnuts. Placed on parchment paper on a cookie sheet in spoonfuls, as per original recipe.

Baked at 375 degrees for about 8 minutes. There were a bit on the soft side. Tasted even better after sitting out a bit! The original recipe’s author suggests refrigerating the cookies and eating right out of the fridge for the least amount of stickiness. We took them to a Shakespeare in the Park outing, and they did get stickier and more crumbly as the night went on – but still tasted delish. Recipe makes about 24 cookies.

 

Leave a Reply

