Artifical Sweetner and Low Body Temp

I’ve been charting my temperature each morning for a few months, and I seem to have a ridiculously low body temperature.

I noticed during my 2rd month of temperature-taking that my temperature seemed to go up about .5 a degree (which co-incided with the second month I was diet coke-free).  Now, a few months after being back on aspartame, I notice my body temperature falling even lower.  This morning it was only 96.74 upon awakening.  After walking for 1/2 hour (and working up a sweat), my temperature still only reached 97.04.  Is the diet soda drinking related to the low body temperatures, or simply a conicidence?

I googled and found this study on rats and artificial sweetner:

An exciting new study in the Journal of Behavioral Neuroscience has shown conclusively that using artificial sweeteners not only does not prevent weight gain, but induces a whole set of physiologic and hormonal responses that actually make you gain weight.

The researchers proved this by giving two different groups of rats some yogurt. One batch of yogurt was sweetened with sugar and the other was sweetened with saccharin.

They found that three major things happened over a very short period of time in the rats that were fed artificially sweetened yogurt.

First, the researchers found that the total food eaten over 14 days dramatically increased in the artificial sweetener group — meaning that the artificial sweetener stimulated their appetite and made them eat more.

Second, these rats gained a lot more weight and their body fat increased significantly.

And third (and this is very troubling) was the change in core body temperature of the rats fed the artificial sweeteners. Their core body temperature decreased, meaning their metabolism slowed down.


So not only did the rats eat more, gain more weight, and have more body fat, but they actually lowered their core body temperature and slowed their metabolism.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: All calories are not created equal.

The study’s most astounding finding was that even though the rats that ate the saccharin-sweetened yogurt consumed fewer calories overall than the rats that ate the sugar-sweetened yogurt, they gained more weight and body fat.

This helps disprove the conventional view that people will consume fewer calories by drinking artificially sweetened drinks or eating artificially sweetened foods.

Despite their name, these are not “diet” drinks. They are actually “weight gain” drinks!

I know I shouldn’t drink diet soda — whether or not it affects my body temp.  If nothing else, it isn’t natural and it isn’t good for me.  It is a way to have “free” sweets — but is anything in life truly free?  It may not cost me calories, but I am sure I’ll pay the price somehow.

I suppose I have no choice but to go for at least 6 months without diet soda and see if I notice any difference.  We are headed on vacation next week and I don’t forsee me being “good” enough to say no to all diet-soda opportunities while out and about.   I think I’ll fast from diet soda from August 1st until the end of the year.

Apparently this stuff has a hold on me when I read my writing and realize I sound like a drug addict (especially noting I haven’t always been successful at my diet soda fasts in the past).  My mind says I need to never touch the stuff again!

Leave a Reply

