New Blog Name — Stay at Home My Heart!

One Beggar’s Bread has bit the dust. As soon as I went gluten-free the “bread” in my blog name started to bug me (even though my original intent with the title had more to do with spiritual matters than with gluten-filled morsels).

I haven’t been able to think of another blog name until this weekend.

I was trying to consider, what is important to me right now? What are my goals, aspirations for this season of life?

For the past few years I have felt my heart being called toward home. An activity-addicted gal by nature, I could have easily raised my kids while eating out all the time, running from sport to sport and party to party, ignoring piles of laundry or dirty kitchen floors, being a junk food junkie and being involved in many ministries outside my home while neglecting the ministry in my home. I can still struggle with these things at times! But now I know that I WANT my heart to be focused in  my home life.  I want Home to be a strong center for our family’s lives.

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow’s poem, Stay at Home my Heart has become an encouragement for me — and has inspired the new name of my blog!

Stay, stay at home, my heart, and rest;
Home-keeping hearts are happiest,
For those that wander they know not where
Are full of trouble and full of care;
To stay at home is best.

Weary and homesick and distressed,
They wander east, they wander west,
And are baffled and beaten and blown about
By the winds of the wilderness of doubt;
To stay at home is best.

Then stay at home, my heart, and rest;
The bird is safest in its nest;
O’er all that flutter their wings and fly
A hawk is hovering in the sky;
To stay at home is best.

It’s easier for me to claim certain priorities rather than live them out. I’m hoping my new blog title will be a gentle reminder to me to live out what I say I believe about Home being an important center for our lives.

Leave a Reply

