Weekly Menu (back to gluten-free!)

The Gluten-Free Menu Swap, hosted this week by Cooking and UNcooking, is featuring avocados.

Although I don’t have any mention of avocados in my menu plan, I should take this opportunity to share this delicious recipe for avocado shakes. This link says the shakes are Brazilian. My friend who gave me the recipe says they are Indian. Whatever country the idea came from, it’s worth sharing! (I don’t follow the recipe exactly, just throw the ingredients in varying amounts until they taste good). This shake is DELICIOUS. You would never guess (your kids will never guess) that this shake has avocado in it. The light green color almost tricks your mind into tasting mint. Seriously yummy.

Wheat is apparently not yet my friend. The experiment of going back to wheat is over. I still don’t think I’m Celiac, but I do know that wheat doesn’t agree with me. It seems I don’t get the instant reactions to wheat that I did for awhile, so I think my tummy is healing (walnuts and almonds also temporarily caused me great pain for a few months, and I can eat these things now) but my hormones felt out of whack these past few weeks and my joints started aching again and my tummy bloated up like a big balloon. Enough reactions to keep me away from wheat for another good while. I am still plan on giving homemade sourdough a good try.

I’m trying to cut back on carbs in general this week as I’m sick of being overweight. I’m also trying to cut back on $$ because hubby said anything under budget I spend can go in my little “secret” savings jar (I’m not telling what it’s for just yet, stay tuned!).

So here’s my mostly-gluten-free, low-carbish, low-budget menu for the week (on the days the kids have more carb-y breakfasts, I’m going to make myself an egg and eat it over a bed of lettuce or raw spinach — an idea I found in The Fat-Resistance Diet book that sounds weird but it is seriously yummy!)

Breakfasts:

Bacon and Eggs

Soaked Oats

Golden Oats

Irish Oatmeal

Cereal

GF Pancakes (I tried a recipe last week and added in some coconut flour in place of about 1/4 of the gf basic flour — they were delicious! The coco flour adds protein and fiber to the pancakes.)

Leftover Pancakes w/ eggs

Lunches:

Leftovers from Dinners, whenever possible

Broccoli Salad

Sourdough Sandwiches (PB and honey)

Waldorf Salad w/ Creamy Coconut Dressing

Tostadas, raw veggies w/ ranch dressing

Celery with Peanut Butter and smoothies

Go out after church on Sunday

Dinners:

Crock Pot Beef Soup (OK, it’s way too hot in my part of the world for this but I need to bring soup to a sick friend and saw the recipe on Org Junkie‘s Menu this week and it looks delicious! We’ll have to follow it up with smoothies for dessert to cool us down, I guess)

Salmon, steamed broccoli, salad

Bunless Burgers, salad

Beans and Kielbasa in Crock Pot (HT: What a Crock!)

Zucchini Lasagna with no noodles from Simply Gluten Free (HT: Gluten Free Mommy)

LEFTOVERS! Can’t Get Cheaper than Leftovers šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

