Better than KFC Gluten-free Biscuits

Well. I planned to try this scrumptious-looking recipe for Light and Fluffy Biscuits from Gluten Free Cooking School this morning. But I got carried away on the computer this morning, and was way behind schedule when the children woke up HUNGRY. I thought I needed a quicker, easier version (I was out of corn starch, and didn’t read the GFCS recipe thoroughly to realize I DID have something starchy I could have substituted…oh well, I’ll try this recipe next time).

I went to Bob’s Red Mill site and found a recipe for biscuits using an all-purpose flour. Recently I discovered my own favorite (so far) all-purpose flour (click here for the recipe) and thought I’d whip up the biscuits Bob’s way.

Well, once I got into cooking, I realized there were some touches that sounded tastier from the Gluten Free Cooking School Version, so I stole a bit from her recipe and tweaked Bob’s to come up with this:

(Makes about 2 dozen 2-inch biscuits)

3 cups gluten free all purpose flour (I used a homemade pre-mix that contained brown rice flour, corn starch, arrowroot and xantham gum)

2 Tbsps sugar

3 tsps baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

(I did NOT add the xantham or guar gum as suggested, since my all-purpose already had some in it)

1 1/2 tsps sea salt

Liquid Ingredients:

1 stick butter (put into freezer to cool)

1 1/2 cups buttermilk (I’m sure this had a lot to do with why these biscuits were yummy!)

1 egg, beaten

I mixed all the dry ingredients together. Then I took out my butter, cut it into slices, and cut it into my flour using my pastry cutter — until the beads of butter were fairly small.

Next I added the buttermilk and beaten egg and stired until mixed.

I sprayed oil on my pampered chef baking stone and dropped the biscuits onto it.

Put into an oven preheated at 350 degrees, and baked for 15 minutes. The biscuits were NOT golden brown, but I took them out anyway. Absolutely yummy with honey or preserves (we had both!). I did not miss the gluten! YUM!

I can’t wait to try the recipe from Gluten Free Cooking School to compare and find my own very best biscuit recipe!

One thought on “Better than KFC Gluten-free Biscuits

Leave a Reply

