Confessions of a Former Hoochi Mama

On the subject of modesty, Alexandra Foley has a delightful story to share in Confessions of a Former Hoochi Mama:

I was recently reflecting on what it was that made me so interested in modesty over the past few years. To know me you would know that there were quite a few years in which I could be categorized as a “hoochi mama.” “Hoochi mama” is a term I picked up from my little brother who uses it to refer to girls who dress a bit on the skimpy side. As a teenager I never had a figure that I was terribly comfortable with, but in my early twenties I finally had a body that I was willing to show off, and accordingly, did. Then I had a wake-up call.

I was talking with a male friend who on a beautiful May day confessed how much he dreaded Spring. “How on earth could you not love Spring?” I asked. He replied that as a woman I could not understand what it was like to be a man who, after months of winter’s imposed modesty, was suddenly bombarded with so much female flesh! This was no ordinary guy but rather a nice Catholic boy who made every effort not to objectify women. “I have to spend all of Spring and Summer with my eyes on the concrete. It’s horrible!” he told me. Sitting there in my micro mini skirt and noticing for the first time how his eyes darted from mine to the pavement, I felt terrible. All that time I had thought that being “liberated” meant that I could wear whatever I wanted when it really meant that I was being inconsiderate to those around me. My turn to modesty had begun.

Read More…

3 thoughts on “Confessions of a Former Hoochi Mama

  1. .

    Her account of being awakened, by what her friend said, to the impact of her mode of dress reminds me of my own such experience.

    “Clothing is advertizing,” Gordon Tullock observed to the students in his class, of which I was one.

    I do recall some friends laughing, years later, at my fashion impairment in wearing neon orange shorts with … anything. (And I thought it was such a bright, energetic colr. It was. It was.)

    Clothing: it is a social thing. God cares about how we behave toward others. To paraphrase the atheist: “Temptation, c’est les autres.”

    She says he was a guy who, “made every effort not to objectify women.”

    To help guys not objectify women, she eventually stopped dressing like a hoochie mama.

    It is work to consider how what you do affects others. (I detest work.) My neighbors were out in their front yard earlier, playing cards, and they turned on the speakers and the rap music. THUMP-A THUMP-A THUMP-A. I went out to the fence, waved, and said, “I’m trying to watch TV.” The guy turned it off. Thanks.

    Turn it down.
    Turn it off.

    “Repent” — The Bible word means “to turn.” The word repent means “to turn around and go the other way.” The common word translated as repent in the Old Testament is “shub”. This word means to turn back, or return.

    She turned off (or turned down) her hoochie mama attire.
    (Would “turning it off” mean never leaving the house without wearing a burqa?)

    Sartre, the atheist marxist existentialist philosopher, who wrote, “l’enfer, c’est les autres” — hell is other people. Elsewhere, he writes of the problem of humanity, that each one treats others as objects. Objectify. To treat another person as an object and not as a fellow human being with feelings and consciousness of his or her own.

    This he considered the great philosophical problem of the human condition. How to overcome it, and see one another properly, and behave properly? Insoluable…

    Friends of Bill W. say that Step 1 is to admit, “I am powerless…”

    .

  2. Just surfing today and I stumbled across your site, I really enjoyed being here!
    I am a classical christian homeschool mom of eight children. I would love it if you would stop by my blog for a visit.
    I have a toplist for reformed classical homeschoolers if you are interested in joining.

Leave a Reply

