“To My Dear and Loving Husband”

by Anne Bradstreet (whose sentiments I share for my own husband!)

 

 


If ever two were one, then surely we.
If ever man were loved by wife, then thee;
If ever wife was happy in a man,
Compare with me, ye women, if you can.
I prize thy love more than whole mines of gold
Or all the riches that the East doth hold.
My love is such that rivers cannot quench,
Nor ought but love from thee, give recompense.
Thy love is such I can no way repay,
The heavens reward thee manifold, I pray.
Then while we live, in love let’s so persevere
That when we live no more, we may live ever.

6 thoughts on “

  1. No, Kate, I’ve just been feeling extra-thankful for my man this week! I listened to another “how to be a good wife” CD, and those type of talks always remind me how easy and wonderful I have it. There’s no reason I shouldn’t be a great wife with the quality man I married 😉
    I hope to get a chance to hang out with you a bit at the next scouts meeting. I’d love to hear more about your job with TOS — that sounds like a wonderful daydream-come-true!

  2. This is a very good a place to say what I wanted to say: Based on your comment to the infamous “Marriage Should Be Eradicated” post elsewhere on WordPress, I wanted to say that your husband is a very lucky man. How do I know that? Because your post could have come from my wife–and I know how lucky I am to have her. We feel about each other the way you feel about your husband (and I hope he feels about you).

    So congratulations on over a decade of marriage. I am sure that my wife and I will make it there–and beyond–and my prayer is that we will be as crazy about each other as you are (very evidently) about your husband. I think it is terrific to see others out there who still hold to the Christian sacredness of marriage rather than to the secular attitude that marriage is something that you can throw away if you get tired of it.

  3. Thanks for your comments, Cory! I enjoyed looking around both yours and your wife’s blogs! You guys seem adorable 😉 (I especially enjoyed your funny posts on Calvinism! I’ll be back to check out more later.)
    Thanks for your encouragment — that “marriage should be eradicated” post sure was a drag, wasn’t it? It is so interesting to me that folks will vehemently fight for hopelessness! I love that Truth is not just simply True but also much more hopeful and romantic than what the world has to offer!
    My husband and I have gone into our marriage not expecting to have “gushy” feelings for each other every day, but to choose to love in spite of feelings. (the whole “love is a verb, not a noun” thing). So far, deciding to live this way has led to more gushy days than not — kind of a paradox, I think. Those who live for the romantic feelings find they are always out of grasp, you know? But when that isn’t your end goal, you tend to get more of them along the way. At least that’s been my general experience, so far!
    God bless you and yours!

  4. My wife and I entered our marriage not expecting anything less than having to take lumps with good. We’ve had much bad. Much, much bad. That makes the good better and the time with each other awesome!

    Secular attitudes toward marriage all seem to expect the “gushy” feelings and the constant romance. Truth is, marriage is a lot of work! But I love every minute of it. I don’t have “gushy” feelings or constant romance, but I do treasure the times that we get it! I agree that not having the expectations in place seem to lead to more “gushy” days than off days. That is very weird, but I like it!

Leave a Reply

