“O” for Obvious

We finally watched “V” for Vendetta.

I had heard it was an anti-American, anti-George W. Bush flick, but expected the slams to be delicate and understated, wrapped up in a sly Hollywood disguise. I had no idea how forthright the filmmakers would be.

This film was just so obvious, so painfully obvious, in preaching it’s message, that I highly doubt it could be very effective. If you’ve seen Left Behind or some of the old Billy Graham movies, you know what I mean about movies that are painfully obvious in their promotion of certain ideals. Most people don’t respond to that kind of non-subtlety, do they? In fact, in a moral sense, it seems that the subtle disrobing of American modesty, the quiet promotion of homosexual values and casual sex or the common degradation of marriage in our sitcoms and cinema flicks have done much more damage than something as overt as this flick. I could not help but think PROPAGANDA while watching this movie.

I planned on writing about many of inconsistencies that jumped out at me from this movie. While doing online research to jog my memory, I came across this review. The reviewer did a better job than me, and I have no desire to re-invent the wheel.

If you haven’t seen the movie, by all means, see it. If you have seen it, let me know what you think. I’d love to hear what your opinions are of this review as well (of special interest is the quote by the author of the original “V” for Vendetta book, including the fact that he didn’t plan to see the movie!).

If you have seen the movie, and you can’t see that Mr. Producer is trying to hit you upside the head with his blatant worldview, then I suggest you begin training yourself to think.

Leave a Reply

