Moms for Modesty

Lindsey from Enjoy the Journey, announced a new campaign Everyday Mommy has begun called Moms and Dads for Modesty. (You can read Lindsey’s thoughts on Modesty as a Mom-issue here and here.)

Apparently, what started the idea with Everyday Mommy was the barrage of comments on this post about whether particular clothing was suitable for little gals. Everyday Mommy is encouraging modest-minded parents to sign the mission statement she has provided, hoping retailers will notice this blog movement and react accordingly (as some merchants responded to this gal’s complaint back in 2004):

mommies for modesty

Moms for Modesty Mission Statement

 

  • As a Mom for Modesty I believe in common-sense modesty for girls and young women.
  • I believe in refraining from sexualizing our girls and young women.
  • I believe that it is unwise and unfair to taunt boys and young men by permitting my daughter(s) to dress in an immodest manner.
  • I believe that true beauty comes from within and I strive to teach my daughter(s) this truth.
  • I will loyally shop at retailers that provide girls’ and young women’s clothing that is modest, affordable and stylish.

 

I am relieved that God has seen fit to give me little boys (at least so far :)) because I think I am just starting to truly mature in this area.

I’m not sure, had my firstborn been a girl, that I would not have fallen myself into the cutesy, sexy fashions for toddlers and small children. I have been blessed to watch and learn from our good friends, the Hernandez family, as they have dealt with female fashions for their little girl. Allison’s take on it has been, “Why let her wear something now, that I have to tell her in a few years is inappropriate?” Why start a bad habit now, a habit that could eventually be truly destructive (causing men to stumble) when your daughter has a post-pubescent body? (And, the truth is, in this day and age, there are plenty of people with warped views of sexuality who would find slutty fashions very tantalizing on a little pre-pubescent body. And I honestly don’t know if I blame them. The more we dress our little gals in sexually arousing clothes, the more the general public will associate little girls with sex. Is that not a logical leap?)

A year or so ago, we were walking through the mall when I saw a group of gals dancing — gyrating, wiggling hips and bottoms — while wearing very provocative clothing (or lack of clothing?).

(I searched Google Images under “Libby Lu” to find these photos of a popular birthday party trend with young girls these days, in case you haven’t been to the mall lately!)

is this modest?

This were LITTLE girls, acting like grown women — and not modest, humble, lovely grown women (like the kind Titus 2 describes)! I am all for children’s playtime being practice for maturity. Children look forward to growing up, and part of playing should be preparation for one’s future life as an adult. Let’s open a store at the mall where little girls can nurture babies and cook meals for their families… Oh, I can hear you now: “That is so last century.” Fine. How about a more modern store where gals can play dress up as doctors and lawyers and teachers and Mother Theresas?

From my perspective, Libby Lu and the mothers and fathers who drop them off there are priming their daughters for careers as striptease artists or rock stars, communicating to them that baring skin and flaunting one’s body lead to success and happiness (do you think this way of thinking could have anything to do with the body-image crisis many teenage girls are undergoing in the U.S.?) At the very least, parents promoting this kind of play are teaching self-glorification and self-advertisement, sentiments not high on the list of values most Christian parents seek to instill in their daughters.

(And, I have to wonder how many perverts hang out in this area of the mall, just to watch these groups of mini exotic dancers celebrating birthday parties!)

Libby Lu is just one example of immodesty of little girls in our culture. I’d like to encourage you as a parent to give serious thought as to your personal standards of modesty, for yourself and for your little ones. Don’t let culture decide them for you. Who was it that said if we don’t think things through for ourselves, we WILL be swept along the tide of popular culture? I can’t recall who said it, but I certainly agree.

If you concur with the Mission Statement at Everyday Mommy, sign your name to the list and add a link to your blog. Let the retailers know that we parents won’t stand idly by as others dress our children provocatively.

Here are a few other resources that may be of interest to you:

Christian Modesty and the Public Undressing of America

Listen to Leslie Ludy share about Teaching Girls the Truth about Modesty and Purity, Part I, Part II and Part III

Michelle Malkin shares on Standing up to the “Girls Gone Wild” Culture

Teaching Your Daughters to Value Modesty

Modest Daughters by Douglas Wilson

Feminine Dress by Elisabeth Elliot

Libby Lu in the News:

Club Libby Lu, Glamour Babes

7 thoughts on “Moms for Modesty

  1. : 0 Do you see the shock and horror on my face??? This Libby Lou thing is a PARTY idea?! (Holding head to keep my brain from exploding….) OH MY LANDS!

    I love this idea. When my oldest (now 17) was little, we started making some stands for modest dress….I think just out of Grace, to be honest. We didn’t understand the choices we were making, really – just knew we didn’t want what we were seeing on the streets. I think ….nah, I’m CERTAIN Father would have done the same for you. : )

    HEY – I see you came to join our discussion!! I’m so glad. When can I put you down to host a discussion??? 😉 OK, I’ll let you get in on the conversation first. ; ) ; )

  2. Hi Deborah! Thanks for nominating my post, A Tremor of Modesty and Restraint, to the First Carnival of Modesty.

    While you and I have very different perspectives, I agree with you 100% on the vileness of the Libby Lu phenomenon and I agree with the Moms for Modesty pledge.

  3. Thanks, Liz! I just loved having all those current modesty events all in one place…
    I have found your overall blog very interesting and fun to read and I’ll be back to visit soon.
    Deb

  4. It’s so sad to see little girls sexualized like that. I signed my name to the MFM list a while ago, and put the icon on my blog as soon as I set it up.

Leave a Reply

