Book Tag, You’re It!

 

1. One book that changed your life:  One book that changed my life?  Books are so life-changing, aren’t they?  Interacting with authors, chewing over “new” ideas in light of scripture is such fun – and what an incredible feeling of exhilaration to realize something new! 

Okay, here’s a few of mine:

Reforming Marriage by Douglas Wilson changed the way I view my marriage.  You mean my husband is not going to be consumed with romantic and dreamy thoughts of me all the time???  I thought that was what he was for!!  After throwing it to the floor in dismay over this revelation, I picked up the book again and gleaned a lot of good stuff from this short book!  I have come to be quite content in God’s plan for our marriage, and in being my husband’s best support system and cheerleader.  Our “reformed” marriage is now more intimate and fulfilling. 

Romancing Your Child’s Heart by Monte Swan changed the way I view my children (or at least really helped me define the calling in my heart).  It’s all about wooing your children into a love relationship that points them to Christ – I need to read this book again, actually, as I have been quite the Grump Mom lately, not a lot of wooing, I’m afraid. 

For the Children’s Sake by Susan Schaeffer Macaulay (daughter of Francis Schaeffer) was my first introduction to Charlotte Mason (and getting to know
Charlotte has been a pleasant and life-changing journey!
).  This book helped me see what education, whether at home or at a school, can be – life-enriching, joyful, rich and deep.  A warm and fuzzy yet inspirational and practical book.

A Different Kind of Teacher by John Taylor Gatto opened my eyes to the history and nature of public-schooling in America.  Gatto was New York State and City Teacher of the Year for several years, and writes from an insider and caring point-of-view.  The book is a collection of his essays and speeches over the years.

2. One book that you’ve read more than once:  Again, ONE  book that I’ve read more than once?

Thomas Carlyle is quoted as saying, “No book that will not improve by repeated reading deserves to be read at all.”  I agree.  Great books should be read and re-read, fiction or non-fiction.  With each reading, your relationship with the author grows more intimate.

3. One book you’d want on a desert island:  I love Rev. Bevere’s idea of One Thousand Places to See Before You Die so I could read about the places I would never see, but that just may be too depressing!  I think I’d bring my Bible (and not for the spiritual reasons I wish were my intentions).  Think about it – with only ONE book, I could read 66 books, including theology, history, poetry, practical life skills, and a romance novel.  Now that’s a book!  Also, with no other books in sight and my inborn love of reading, I’d be simply forced to read the Bible the way I should be wanting to in the here and now! 

4. One book that made you laugh: Owls in the Family by Farley Mowat.  We read this aloud for bed time reading a year or so ago.  Stinkin’ hysterical.


5. One book that made you cry:  Mission of Motherhood by Sally Clarkson, Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls, and The Zion Chronicles by Brock and Bodie Thoene. 

6. One book you wish had been written: How to Revive the Church in America in 3 Fool-Proof, Undeniably Biblical and Completely Humble Steps 

7. One book you wish had never been written:  Maybe The Koran?  I think of all the violence in the Middle East right now…but then I think, well, since Abraham’s sons Ishmael and Isaac split, this rift has been part of God’s plan for ultimate redemption…so who am I to wish The Koran away? 8. One book you’re currently reading:  Open Heart, Open Home, a fabulous book on hospitality (I plan to blog on this book and my Summer Reading Challenge soon)

9. One book you’ve been meaning to read:   Total Truth by Nancy Pearcey. From the first chapter, I was smitten, but stopped reading because hubby took it to work!  I also am dying to read both Don’t Waste Your Life by John Piper, Lost in the Middle by Paul David Tripp, and Anne of Green Gables!

10. Tag five others: Mom, Danielle, Miroslav, Dad, David and anyone else!!

2 thoughts on “Book Tag, You’re It!

  1. 1. One book that changed your life:
    Fantastic Four #12

    contained in these books:
    color reprint: Marvel Masterworks: Fantastic Four Vol. 1 (Hardcover)
    b&w reprint:: Essential Fantastic Four, Vol. 1 (Marvel Essentials) (Paperback)

    It opened my eyes to what comics could be. I was 8 years old.

    2. One book that you’ve read more than once:
    Fantastic Four #12
    I read it and re-read it over and over.

    3. One book you’d want on a desert island:
    My first edition hardcover of Jazz People by Dan Morgenstern (writer) and Ole Brask (Photographer)

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0306805278/sr=1-1/qid=1155687610/ref=pd_bbs_1/104-6350301-7073528?ie=UTF8&s=books

    4. One book that made you laugh:
    Getting Even by Woody Allen
    Contains reprints of some of the comedy writer’s 1960s humor articles for magazines like The New Yorker.
    “Comedy writer,” because he started out as a TV gag writer for comedy sketch shows in the 1950s.
    e-text here:
    http://www.angelfire.com/blog2/endovelico/WoodyAllen-GettingEven.txt

    Wiretapping cannot be employed indiscriminately, but its effectiveness is illustrated by this transcript of a conversation between two gang bosses in the New York area whose phones had been tapped by the F.B.I.

    Anthony: Hello? Rico?
    Rico: Hello?
    Anthony: Rico?
    Rico: Hello.
    Anthony: Rico?
    Rico: I can’t hear you.
    Anthony: Is that you, Rico? I can’t hear you.
    Rico: What?
    Anthony: Can you hear me?
    Rico: Hello?
    Anthony: Rico?
    Rico: We have a bad connection.
    Anthony: Can you hear me?
    Rico: Hello?
    Anthony: Rico?
    Rico: Hello?
    Anthony: Operator, we have a bad connection.
    Operator: Hang up and dial again, sir.
    Rico: Hello?

    Because of this evidence, Anthony (The Fish) Rotunno and Rico Panzini were convicted and are currently serving fifteen years in Sing Sing for illegal possession of Bensonhurst.

    5. One book that made you cry:
    umm…
    6. One book you wish had been written:
    umm…
    7. One book you wish had never been written:
    umm…
    9. One book you’ve been meaning to read:
    umm…
    10. Tag five others:
    umm…

Leave a Reply

