Lime Salsa

Last summer, our family got really into Mission Guacamole tortilla chips.  On the back of the chip bag is an absolutely yummy recipe for lime salsa.  This summer, we are still eating the lime salsa, but with regular tortilla chips (the whole green-chip-laden-with-preservatives-and-fake-flavor thing nauseates me this year).

Tomatillos -- yum!

Here’s the recipe for the salsa from Mission’s website:

Recipe Ingredients:

1 large, ripe Red Tomato diced

8 (about 8 oz.) medium size Tomatillos husked, rinsed and chopped

1/4 cup Red Bell Pepper minced

1/2 tsp. Onion minced

1 tsp. Lime Peel grated

1 Tbsp. Lime Juice

Mission® Tortilla Strips for dipping

Recipe Instructions:

  1. Mix all ingredients together in non-metal bowl. If made ahead, cover and refrigerate up to four hours. Serve with Mission® Tortilla Strips.

I usually take a few shortcuts on this recipe.  I make all of the salsa in my blender.  Instead of chopping a bell pepper, I throw in a couple handfuls of the frozen bell pepper mix from Trader Joe’s, and instead of chopping and onion and a tomato (unless we have a garden fresh tomato — you can’t beat that taste) I usually just pour in some of whatever salsa we have on hand.  I place all the ingredients into the blender and then puree away until the salsa looks snazzy.

This salsa is YUMMY, and tastes even better the next day after the flavors have time to blend in the fridge.  Buenos dias!

2 thoughts on “Lime Salsa

  1. Oh my, this sounds FABULOUS. We have a place where we get Cherry salsa – we LOVE it with lime chips dipped in it. (but the kind we get are $$ – so it’s an occasional treat.) : ) (GOOD THING!!)

    Thanks for finding my wee little blog. It was wonderful to see you – AND I’m glad I found yours too – I’m eager to peruse it and get to know you better!

    Sweet sleep –
    Dawn
    Who hates going to bed when it’s raining so nicely : )

Leave a Reply

