My Mighty Warrior

My husband Ron is a mighty warrior, strong and true, living up to the meaning of his name.  Ron is choosing to fight for the glory of God and the honor of our family — against many “enemies” in this life, enemies that are constantly barraging us with their lies and distractions.  Ron is our “Peter” (think The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe), made strong by the power and mercy of the real Aslan

I am so thankful for the blessings this man has brought into my life (not the least of which are our three little warriors-to-be), and even more thankful that before the dawn of Creation it was decided that * I * was the perfect helper for this man!  Wow!!  That’s pretty cool, wouldn’t you say? 

This poem reminded me of a bit of what has been stirring in my husband’s heart recently:

The Patriarch

More noble than the valiant deeds of shining knights of yore,
More powerful than earthly plights that make the rich man poor,
More kingly than a royal throne or a lion with his pride,
Is he whose babes sleep well at night sure Daddy will provide.

There is a spirit in this land and Jezebel’s her name.
She’s calling you to leave your home for power, fun, and fame.
She wants your wife, your children too — she’ll never compromise,
Until your house is torn in two by listening to her lies.

But though a hundred thousand million men may fall prey to her lures,
And wives en masse leave home in search of “more fulfilling” chores,
Though preachers praise, and friends embrace, her pagan plan of death,
Stand strong and quit you like a man with every blessed breath.

Stand strong and rise, O man of God, to meet this noble call,
The battle is not new you see, it’s been here since the Fall.

Your wife is your helpmeet, my friend, and not another man’s,
So care for her and keep her far from Mistress Jezi’s plans.
Protect, provide, and give to her your undivided life,
This is the dear one of your youth, your precious bride, your wife.

And rally to those tiny ones who trust you for their care —
A lifetime spent discipling them’s a lifetime pure and rare.
For when they put their hand in yours and know a Daddy’s love,
You’re showing them a picture of the Father from above.

Look not toward worldly goal or gain, or for your liberty,
Look only into their sweet eyes to find your ministry.
Devote your heart and sacrifice and make your manly mark —
There is none so great as he who finds his call as patriarch.

~Douglas W. Phillips

The above poem is from Poems for Patriarchs: The Verse and Prose of Christian Manhood.   Contrary to popular thought, “patriarch” is not a dirty word.  Whether with this word or not, it is my earnest hope that the concept of husbands and fathers leading their families and communities is resurrected in The Church.  The more I learn to truly let go and let my husband lead us (and let God lead my husband), the more joy and peace flood my soul…of course, I am still LEARNING this neat little practice 🙂

3 thoughts on “My Mighty Warrior

  1. “The more I learn to truly let go and let my husband lead us (and let God lead my husband), the more joy and peace flood my soul”

    Good flood!

    “it is my earnest hope that the concept of husbands and fathers leading their families and communities is resurrected in The Church. ”

    When did it die?

    “Ron is a mighty warrior, strong and true”

    I second that!

  2. Yes, Mimi, what you say is true, and sad.
    I think the more men realize that they are meant to be warriors, the more they will see difference between living as fallen or as victors. It is my prayer that God works in the hearts of men to realize their callings as men.
    I know a few men who grew up as “victims” but have been changed by God and are protecting and leading the next generation well.
    My husband is “mighty” because of the grace of God, and I pray that my young men may also be mighty one day. It is my sincere prayer that we may leave a legacy where children are not victims of he war between good and evil, but instead are loved, cherished, and taught how to be victorious world-changers who love their Creator and bring glory to Him.

Leave a Reply

