Summer Reading Challenge

 

I found out about this Summer Reading Challenge too late for you to sign up officially, but please, join me anyway in picking your own list of wanna-reads for this summer season.

My personal plan is to read (REALLY read, not just skim and skip my way around until I'm bored or get the main idea) the following books between June 1st and August 31st:

Total Truth by Nancy Pearcy (This promises to be a profound book.  It is just such a BIG book that I felt too intimidated to begin!)

Fit Bodies, Fat Minds:  Why Evangelicals Don't Think and What to Do About It by Os Guinness (I gotta get this one back to Joe and Allison, so it's time to finish reading it.  I think I could use some fit body AND a fit mind — better work on health this summer too!)

Lost in the Middle by Paul David Tripp (Hubby has to let me buy this if it's on my summer reading challenge list, no?  I really want to read this book, before I am "lost in the middle!")


Don't Waste Your Life by John Piper (I've wanted to read this book for awhile, and my MIL has it so I can read it for free!)


Deliver Us from Evil by Sean Hannity (This book has been in my library box for awhile, and I need to read it before I have to give it back.  Besides, Sean Hannity is adorable.)

Eusebius – The History of the Church translated from Greek by G.A. Williamson, orginially written by Eusebius (A.D. 260 – 339) (Oh, this may be hard to get through!  From what I've heard, this book will help me better understand the early church.  Eusebius is said to be held in esteem up there with Josephus as far as qualified historians go.  From Amazon reviews, the translation by Maier looks easier to read, but the Williamson copy is the one I have, so I'll make do.)

Making Room:  Recovering Hospitality as a Christian Tradition (I read this book a few years ago.  It was life-changing, but I can't seem to remember why or how.  I need to read it again)

Hospitality Commands by Alexander Strauch (This is a little book, should be quick and easy.  Plus it's been on my shelf waiting to be read for long enough.)

Three Views on the Millenium and Beyond edited by Darrell L. Bock (yet another borrowed book that needs to see it's way back to original owner — sorry, Wendy 🙂)

A Thomas Jefferson Education for the Twenty-First Century by Oliver Van DeMille (another long-sought after book that after acquisition has ended up sitting on my shelf for far too long)

Something by Jane Austen (Sonja, help me decide which!)

Something by George MacDonald (Advice, Sister?)

So, that's my list.  Exciting.  I'd better get started!

Oh, I almost forgot that I need to read, or at least speed-read, The Da Vinci Code, for these reasons.  (By the way, if you've read The Da Vinci Code, here's 10 Questions you may want to ask). 

12 weeks.  13 books.  Here's goes!

HT:  A Circle of Quiet

3 thoughts on “Summer Reading Challenge

  1. Hey sistah!
    I have Eusebius if you want to borrow him from me! I’m not sure when version it is…but it’s here! You can poke around my library next time you’re here.
    Love ya!!

  2. Oh…and as far as Jane Austen goes…I’ve got those, too. Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, a terribly beat up copy of…umm…one I can’t remember, Emma, Persuasion…maybe others, too.

    I also have some of George MacDonald’s fiction (I guess next time I should read a whole post before I comment, eh?). I’d say read one of his faerie stories–the ones that captured Lewis’ imagination. Oh, or the best children’s story EVER–the Princess and the Goblin. You could maybe even read it to the kids??

  3. I have just started reading a book by Claire Berlinski, Menace in Europe. She is a secular Jew whose main thesis is that Western Europe’s troubles stems from its rising secularism. Interesting, huh? In particular she analyzes the rising Muslim population in Western Europe, France in particular, and the unique problems that those countries face in the wake of terrorism.

    It is a fascinating read.

Leave a Reply

