Getting Crunchier

I did something very crunchy yesterday.

I washed my hair with baking soda and rinsed it with apple cider vinegar!

We didn't have any shampoo, I needed a shower, and I didn't want to drag my sick kids to the store.  On my email list of Crunchy Christian Mamas, a woman mentioned her hair being shiny and pretty since using these natural products on her hair.  What the heck!  What did I have to lose!?

I can testify that baking soda and apple cider vinegar are right up there with Paul Mitchell in producing clean, soft, shiny hair.  Unbelievable.  And my husband, who hates vinegar more than almost anything, said I didn't smell bad.

I still picked up a bottle of shampoo at the grocery store last night — but now I know, in a pinch, in the event of a depression or recession, unemployment, natural disaster… I can have great-looking hair for pennies.

You know you want to try it.  Try this recipe — the recipe I found was too much vinegar (3/4 cup vinegar to 3/4 cup water) and I had to do A LOT of rinsing.

I don't highly recommend the Baking Soda Shampoo, it was really difficult to work through my hair.  But here are some other ideas for using Baking Soda for Personal Care.

Have fun.  Be crunchy.

One thought on “Getting Crunchier

  1. Hey! I’ve been using a different computer for awhile and haven’t checked your blog for a long time. And aaaaaah! It moved!!!!!! I like it here though! Your cruncy ideas here are great! I’ve done the same thing on more than one occasion. My brother just doesn’t appreciate the smell that lingers in the bathroom after the vinegar rinse. Though it doesn’t stick on me! And it’s definitely worth it!

Leave a Reply

