Menu Plan Monday (an attempt to lower carbs)

When I let wheat back into my life, the door was opened for all manner of nasty, unhealthy foods. I’m not quite ready to go Stage 1 of the South Beach Diet, but I am convinced I need to lower my carbohydrate intake. I’ll start with obvious things like no longer drinking any of my husband’s sodas nor eating dessert every day! I also need to up my veggie intake.

I purchased a sourdough starter last week and am trying to make bread out of it this week — with fear and trepidation. I’ll post about how that goes. I’m also going to try a sourdough pancake recipe!

I planned a lot of meals this week from The Fat-Resistance Diet book. This book is not just a diet book, but an excellent cookbook. The meals are gourmet-like in freshness and quality. This is the only diet I’ve ever truly lost weight doing. It did not feel like a diet because the food is fresh and healthy. Sort of a lower-fat, lower-carb Nourishing Traditions. I stopped doing this before because of the great expense of certain ingredients, but I’d like to do a more moderate version of this diet again. Now that we are more used to buying fresh veggies (and I know where to get certain things cheaper) I don’t think this diet would be so hard on the pocketbook.

For lots more menu planning ideas and recipes, go to Organization Junkie!

Breakfasts:

The Nourishing Gourmet’s Sourdough Pancakes (cottage cheese for me)

Scrambled Eggs

Multi-grain Breakfast Cereal

Frittata with Fresh Herbs and Cheese

Oatmeal

Yogurt Parfaits x 2

Lunches:

Leftovers whenever possible!

Chicken Caesar Salad (grilled chicken, romaine lettuce, parm cheese, Caesar dressing, optional croutons) served with sourdough bread (hopefully!) for a lunch-time guest.

Garden Salad and Hard-boiled eggs

Tuna on sourdough (again, hopefully!) for the kids, Tuna Avocado Lettuce Wrap (FRD) for me

Immune Power Soup

Greek Salad

Dinners:

Korean-Style Beef and Vegetables (from The Fat-Resistance Diet)

Chicken Parmigiano (also from Fat-Resistance Diet)

Chicken Soup (2 dinners)

Pomegranate Chicken (one more from the Fat-Resistance Diet)

Salmon

Desserts/Snacks:

Black Forest Banana Split (Fat-Resistance Diet; ricotta cheese, a banana, walnuts, unsweetened cocoa, and cherry concentrate).

Blueberries and Yogurt

Smoothies

Leave a comment